Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Previews

⏮ Boxing Day Classics

A look back at some classic Boxing Day encounters

22 December 2022

Ahead of Boxing Day's clash with Portsmouth, we've taken a look back some of City's best festive fixtures of recent years.

Last season's scheduled clash with Swindon Town was sadly postponed due to a Covid outbreak, meaning it's City's first Boxing Day enounter since 2020's match with Forest Green Rovers...

Exeter City 1 Forest Green Rovers 1 | 2020

Honours ended even in a tight top-of -the-table clash at St James Park as Exeter City and Forest Green Rovers played out a 1-1 draw.

The match was the battle of the Collins as Archie Collins’ wonder strike cancelled out Aaron Collins’ opener.

Exeter City 1 Newport County 0 | 2019

The previous year City picked up three points with a win against Newport County when Lee Martin's 14th minute strike sealed a 1-0 scoreline. The win kept City within three points of the League Two summit.

Exeter City 2 | Yeovil Town 1 | 2018

Jayden Stockley's 50th Grecian goal secured a win for City against West Country rivals Yeovil. Lee Holmes opened the scoring but the Glovers pegged us back through Tom James before Stockley struck.

Exeter City 1 Cheltenham Town 0 | 2015

Tom Nichols' strike was the decider as City picked up their first ever win against the Robins, inflicted defeat on former Grecian Paul Buckle. 

Exeter City 4 Torquay United 3 | 2007

A festive thriller at the Park as City edged a seven goal encounter. Jamie Mackie and Dean Moxey edged the Grecians two goals ahead before Chris Todd reduced the deficit. Mackie's second followed Wayne Carlisle's header but Dan Seabourne was then sent off. A Torquay fightback ensued, but they could only manage two through Lee Phillips and Kevin Nicholson.

Exeter City 4 Aldershot Town 0 | 2005

The Grecians ensured they stayed in the promotion race with a thumping of the Shots at SJP. Paul Buckle opened the scoring after half an hour before a Billy Jones penalty doubled the lead before the break. Jon Challinor made it three before Lee Phillips rounded off a resounding victory. 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account