Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

🏆 Matt Jay recognised in PFA Team of the Year

Another award for City's number 17

3 June 2021

Matt Jay has picked up further recognition for his outstanding 2020/21 campaign after being named in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

After securing both the Player's Player and Supporter's Player of the Season awards, as well as being named in the EFL's League Two Team of the Season, MJ can now add the accolade by the Professional Footballer's Association to his growing list of achievements. 

MJ had by far his best season in a City shirt in 2020/21, scoring 20 goals in all competitions - 18 in the league, of which three came against Leyton Orient for his first ever career hat trick.

Check out all 20 of MJ's Goals during the 20/21 Season

The PFA Awards recognise the outstanding performers from every division and are voted for by the players.

They will be broadcast on Sunday 6 June from 7.30pm on the PFA's social channels.

In addition to the PFA Player's Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year, footballing achievement is also honoured through the PFA Merit Award.

Previous winners include Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez, Lucy Bronze and Mohamed Salah. The current holders are Manchester City's Kevin de Bruyne and Chelsea's Beth England. 

The full League Two Team of the Year is as follows:

  • Vaclav Hladky - Salford City
  • Ben Tozer - Cheltenham Town
  • Kyle Knoyle - Cambridge United
  • Ricardo Santos - Bolton Wanderers
  • Will Boyle - Cheltenham Town
  • Josh Sheehan - Newport County
  • Matt Jay - Exeter City
  • Wes Hoolahan - Cambridge United
  • Eoin Doyle - Bolton Wanderers
  • Paul Mullin - Cambridge United
  • James Vaughan - Tranmere Rovers

Well done, MJ! 👏🏻


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account