Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Matt Grimes and Christy Pym called up to England Under-20 squad

28 August 2014

Club News

Matt Grimes and Christy Pym called up to England Under-20 squad

28 August 2014

Young duo called up for international duty

Exeter City are delighted to announce that Grecians duo Matt Grimes and Christy Pym have been called up to the England Under-20 squad, ahead of the Young Lions’ friendly fixture against Romania on Friday 5th September (kick-off 7.30pm).

Grimes and Pym, who both graduated from the Exeter City Academy last summer, will link up with Aidy Boothroyd’s side on Sunday 31st August at St George’s Park in preparation for the game, which takes place at New Bucks Head, home of AFC Telford.

It is the first time that players have been called up to an England international youth squad whilst playing for Exeter City.

19-year-old Grimes, from Exminster, only made his first-team debut for the club just over a year ago, as he starred in Exeter’s 2-0 home win against AFC Wimbledon.  He went on to make a total of 37 appearances in his maiden season, and was ultimately named as Player of the Year for 2013/14.

Meanwhile Exeter-based Pym, 19, made his first senior appearance just six months ago, coming in a 3-2 win at Southend United.  He would go on to make a further eight appearances in that campaign and has been an ever-present so far this year too.

Both players also featured in Exeter City's Under-21 Premier League Cup run last season, which saw the Grecians knock out Torquay, Crystal Palace, Southampton and Blackburn en route to the quarter-final.

Everyone at Exeter City would like to express their pride in Matt and Christy for earning their selection, as well as wishing them the very best of luck for their time on international duty.

The full squad is as follows:

England Under-20 (v Romania)

Christy Pym: Exeter City
Christian Walton: Brighton & Hove Albion
Dominic Ball: Tottenham Hotspur
Shay Facey: Manchester City
Lloyd Jones: Liverpool
Fankaty Dabo: Chelsea
Isaac Hayden: Arsenal
Matt Targett: Southampton
Diego Poyet: West Ham
Paul Digby: Barnsley
Lewis Baker: Chelsea
John Swift: Chelsea
Harrison Reed: Southampton
Matt Grimes: Exeter City
Josh Murphy: Norwich
Callum Robinson: Aston Villa
Jordon Ibe: Liverpool
Rolando Aarons: Newcastle
James Wilson: Manchester United
Sam Gallagher: Southampton
Chuba Akpom: Arsenal
Chris Long: Everton

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account