Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Eight inaugurated into Exeter City’s Hall of Fame

9 July 2014

Club legends venerated at St James Park

Last Friday saw eight legends of St James Park inaugurated into Exeter City's Hall of Fame.

Dick Pym, Cliff Bastin, Reg Clarke, Dermot Curtis, Alan Banks, Arnold Mitchell, Jimmy Giles and Tony Kellow were the names formally inducted into club lore.

Banks and Giles were both in attendance to collect their awards.  The other City legends were represented on the night by their families and friends.

It was a humbling occasion on which eight players that truly knew the value of wearing the colours of Exeter City were celebrated, and their distinguished playing careers were remembered.

Exeter College produced a video feature for each player and a number of sponsors and supporters were also in attendance.  The event was supported by Thatchers Gold, Exeter City Council, Underwoods Solicitors, Cross Deck, Capital Taxis, Cartridges Solicitors, Brayleino and Frobishers.

Steve Perryman, Exeter City’s Director of Football, said: “Recognition as a ‘great’ in any walk of life, pursuit or profession is an accolade awarded to very few.

“To be treasured in a Hall of Fame by a sporting institution is a clear and loud testimony to sporting excellence and to the performances that set these individuals above and beyond the ranks of the many.

“The skills and legacies of these players are for us to respect and remember – and for all of us to be very proud of.”

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account