Exeter City supporter Greg Hill shortlisted for Capital One Supporter of the Year at Football League Awards

‘Grecian Greg’ flying the flag for City at Football League Awards on Sunday

Exeter City are delighted to announce that Grecians supporter Greg Hill has been named as the Capital One Supporter of the Year for 2015 in Sky Bet League 2, and as such is on the shortlist to win the cross-divisional award.

The shortlist is made up of one fan from each division, with each being the Capital One Supporter of the Year in their division.  As well as Greg, supporters representing Brighton & Hove Albion and Crawley Town are included on the shortlist for the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London this Sunday.

Described by one fellow fan as ‘a credit to the club and football in general’, Greg is a well-known face among Exeter City fans.  He sells programmes as a club volunteer before home games at St James Park, and at away games he flies his ‘Grecian Greg’ flag at grounds around League 2, all over the country. 

Although he lives with disability that requires him to use a wheelchair, Greg does not let this get in the way of following Exeter and he regularly makes long journeys around the country cheering on the club.

Greg is hopeful of being the second Exeter City supporter in three years to lift the nationwide award, after Neil Le Milliere was named the winner in 2013.

As well as Greg, the other two nominees are:

Sarah Watts (Brighton & Hove Albion) – Championship
Sarah was well known for her relentless campaigning against homophobia with the Brighton & Hove Supporters’ Club and the Gay Football Supporters’ Network. She also played a vital role in ensuring the Club’s new stadium was built due to her work on the ‘Falmer For All’ campaign.  Sarah sadly passed away in January of this year, with tributes pouring in from fellow fans, former Seagulls players and leading figures across the game.

Tracey Cole (Crawley Town) – League 1
Tracey Cole, described by one fellow fan as an ‘extremely dedicated supporter of Crawley Town’, spends a significant amount of her own time helping to arrange travel to away matches for the Crawley Town Supporters Alliance. Tracey and her partner Gary hire minibuses to ensure there is transport organised.

Drew Barrand, Marketing Director of the Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2015 provides not just the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch over the last year, but also the chance to celebrate the last 10 years of the event.

“We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening on Sunday.”

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the Football League awards, where recognition is given for performances both on and off the pitch.

To tie in with the tenth anniversary of the Football League Awards, this year there are a total of 10 categories, including the Sky Bet Players of the Year, Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

Fans can watch the Awards ceremony live on the Football League’s YouTube channel from 8.30pm on Sunday evening at http://po.st/FLAwardsLIVE.  Highlights of the event will also be broadcast on Sky Sports on Monday evening.

Previous Winners
2014: Phil Beeton (Leeds United)
2013: Neil Le Milliere (Exeter City)
2012: Sue Pollard (Plymouth Argyle)
2011: Kevin Monks (Coventry City)
2010: Herbert Taylor (Southampton)
2009: Warner Duff (Ipswich Town)
2008: Paul Samrah (Brighton & Hove Albion)
2007: Stan McGowan (Bury)
2006: Jeff Hall (Chesterfield)

To find out more about the Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit www.FLAwards.com or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.