🏆 Carabao Cup: City to face Bristol City in the first round on Saturday, September 5

Exeter City will travel to Championship side Bristol City in the first round of the Carabao Cup.

The match, which will be behind closed doors, will take place on Saturday, September 5 in a 2pm kick-off at Ashton Gate.

City last faced Bristol City in a competitive fixture in Spring of 2000 where a 4-0 defeat at Ashton Gate and a 1-1 draw at St James Park saw us exit the Football League Trophy 5-1 on aggregate. 

The Carabao Cup draw was done live on Sky Sports News. Last season the Grecians exited the competition at the first round stage following defeat to Coventry, but we beat Ipwich Town on penalties the season before to set up a tie with Premier League Fulham. 

The 2020/21 competition has seen a number of significant scheduling changes with two legged semi-finals being replaced by a single tie and the first four rounds scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, kicking off in early September.

Round One fixtures are scheduled to take place on Saturday 5 September, but due to the international window may be played on alternative dates. Rounds Two, Three and Four will be played on consecutive midweeks dates starting 15/16 September.

Premier League sides will enter the competition in Round Two or Round Three if they are competing in European competition in season 2020/21.

The full first round draw is as follows:

Northern section

Crewe vs Lincoln
Walsall vs Sheffield Wednesday
Rochdale vs Huddersfield
Preston vs Mansfield
Bolton vs Bradford
Blackburn vs Doncaster
Stoke vs Blackpool
Fleetwood vs Wigan
Grimsby vs Morecambe
Middlesbrough vs Shrewsbury
Derby vs Barrow
Scunthorpe vs Port Vale
Sunderland vs Hull
Burton vs Accrington
Salford vs Rotherham
Barnsley vs Nottingham Forest
Oldham vs Carlisle

Southern section

Bristol City vs Exeter
Plymouth vs QPR
Swindon vs Charlton
Forest Green vs Leyton Orient
MK Dons vs Coventry
Crawley vs Millwall
Stevenage vs Portsmouth
Peterborough vs Cheltenham
Brentford vs Wycombe
Northampton vs Cardiff
Luton vs Norwich
Birmingham vs Cambridge
Newport vs Swansea
Oxford vs AFC Wimbledon
Reading vs Colchester
Gillingham vs Southend
Ipswich vs Bristol Rovers