Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Key Dates: 2018/19 Fixtures Release Day

The Grecians open their campaign at home to Carlisle United

21 June 2018

Exeter City will open their 2018/19 Sky Bet League Two season against Carlisle United at St James Park on Saturday, August 4, 2018.

United are also under new management at Brunton Park as John Sheridan brings his side to Devon to kick off the new campaign.

The following fixtures may be subject to change over the course of the season, but here is a rundown of all of our matches...

Opening and closing weekend

City will play at home for the second consecutive opening match of the season as they take on Carlisle United and will end the campaign away from home at Forest Green Rovers on Saturday, May 4.

Local matches

The Grecians will make the relatively short trip to Yeovil Town on Saturday, October 6 and will make the trip to Swindon Town on New Year’s Day in 2019. They then travel up the M5 to South Wales on Saturday, January 19, as the Grecians play Newport County. The final relatively short trip comes on the last day of the campaign as City go to Forest Green Rovers.

Christmas and Easter

In a normally busy Christmas schedule, the Grecians will play five matches in December starting with a trip to league newcomers Bury on Saturday, December 8, before facing a trip to Oldham Athletic which will be played on Saturday, December 22. A Boxing Day fixture with Yeovil Town at home will precede a match with Grimsby Town at home on December 29. In terms of the Easter Period, the Grecians will take on Crawley Town at St James Park on April 19 which falls on Good Friday and they will make the trip to Stevenage on Easter Monday. Of course, some of these kick-off times could be subject to change.

Midweek fixtures

Our first midweek match in the league falls on the evening of Tuesday, August 21, with a long trip to Cambridge United. City will then play Stevenage at St James Park on Tuesday, October 2 before having another Tuesday night fixture away from home with Crawley Town on October 23. Tuesday, November 27, will see City host Macclesfield Town in an evening match at St James Park. The reverse fixture against the Silkmen will also be played on a Tuesday night with that match falling on March 12.

Long distance away trips

The Grecians certainly aren’t eased into the long distance away trips with the first, and one of the longest, coming against Morecambe on Saturday, August 11. August will also see the Grecians travel to Cambridge United in an evening kick off on August 21 before travelling to MK Dons the following Saturday. A trip to Mansfield Town will follow on Saturday, September 15 and Port Vale on Saturday, September 29. The Grecians will then play Grimsby Town away from home on Saturday, October 20, and will meet Lincoln City at Sincil Bank on Saturday, January 5. City will head north again on Saturday, February 9, as they take on Carlisle United at Brunton Park and the Grecians will face a trip to Notts County on Saturday, March 23.

New teams to League Two

The first time City face a new team to League Two comes against MK Dons who, of course, are now managed by former City boss Paul Tisdale. That match falls on Saturday, August 25. The Grecians then take on Tranmere Rovers away from home on Saturday, November 3, before welcoming Northampton Town to St James Park on Saturday, November 17. Tuesday, November 27, will then see City play another new side as Macclesfield Town travel to Devon. The Grecians will travel to Bury on Saturday, December 8, before travelling to Oldham Athletic on Saturday, December 22.

Have your say on the 2018/19 schedule by using the hashtag #FixturesReleaseDay on Twitter.

Here are the quick links to things you might have missed:


Advertisement block